Gratitude and Acceptance

ThankfulWhat is your story?

Everyone has a story that can be shared.

Most people can say they have been through “hell” and back.

Nobody’s journey is the same even if some of us have experienced a few of the same obstacles.

Have you ever hit rock bottom before???

It’s not pretty if you have. I have a story myself and still I’m on a continued journey to wherever YHWH (God) is taking me. I’m not where I “want” to be yet but I’m definitely not where I used to be. I know a lot of us can be grateful for that statement.

Gratitude!

What are you thankful for? I drew a gratitude cloud giving thanks for everything I could think of in my life. Even the small but most important stuff like water, shelter, air, patience, etc..

I think it is very essential that people acknowledge that in their lives. So much happens to us and so many blessings we receive and overlook (pride) that we don’t always give thanks for. There are times and situations where something good happens and we don’t know how it happened. “The unexplainable cannot be explained” It is what it is.

Take a moment of your time and make yourself a gratitude cloud of everything you’re grateful for. From big to small, struggle or no struggle. Write it all down. You can even post it somewhere and add more as you move forward in life. I’ll show you an example of mines:

Image

When you’re done with yours, you’ll look at it and be like “Wow, there is a lot to be thankful for.” Agree? Yay? Nah?

Anyways…

Acceptance!

Let’s talk about why “Acceptance” is hard. If you’re honest with yourself, everyone (and I mean e v e r y o n e) have looked for some sort of approval from someone or somewhere. Even myself (I can admit it) don’t be afraid to admit your flaws to yourself. There are a lot of people who claim to be real but can’t be honest with themselves. Come on now…

When one can accept their flaws, that person learns to appreciate life like they have been transformed. Transparent. We do change, simply because we learn and grow everyday. Your CHARACTER shouldn’t change but your ATTITUDE most definitely can.

I think people get attitude mixed up with character and become quick to judge a person due to whatever circumstances they have endured. Mind you, your circumstances should not define who you are as a whole but rather your faith & strength to overcome them.

Why should you be worried over the opinions of a sheep? Take initiatives to listen to others and maybe even use their opinions as a suggestion. Good people mean no harm when they want to be an inspiration in your life. Good criticism can good at time, however, don’t let opinions become your reality. It’s so much negativity in this crazy world and some people allow others to dictate who they are. Stop that, do you boo boo (haha) you have a mind of your own.

Let 2014 be inspired upon a new state of mind. A better mindset…be soulful, be healthy and continue learning. Look at every ending as a new beginning.

P.S. This blog was inspired by one of my favorite cousins William, te amo primo!

Yah Bless!
~Taneshia S.

Leave a Reply

