A Twisted Turn In Life

It has been a little while since I last posted on my blog. As much as I love to write, I was not purposely neglecting my blog. Sometimes we have to take a step back and live more in order to tell another story. Well within the last month, I have learned a few things simply from observing and experiencing.

Have you ever watched a movie like five times and noticed something new you didn’t pay attention to the previous time? Or read a book more than once and realize you just interpreted the message from a different perspective this time around? Well, life sort of works in the same matter…

You see, in today’s time we are quick to listen to something only to give a response without actually comprehending what is going on or being said. So I guess you can say we over react to certain situations in life every now and then. You can sit there and say “No I don’t” all you want. Unless you are an overly cautious person who is aware of EVERY single detail of your surroundings and understands everything that is happening around you. There is a high percentage that your unconscious mind wins. Then we face the consequences later. Sucks huh…yea tell me about it haha.

But why the unconscious mind? Well let’s take a look at why…

levels_of_mind

Now do you see? There is a reason why disciplinary is important.

There is no harm in reminding yourself that it is okay to make mistakes. Otherwise how else would you grow? But it is not okay to make unthoughtful decisions when you know it can cause damage. Know the difference between taking good risks and bad risks.

What do you know about having a teachable spirit?

Because I swear I’ve came across some people who thinks they know it all and is not willing to learn anything except what they already know. People like this is only in for a rude awakening.

For a 22 year old, I’ve seen and been through a lot to obtain wisdom about a lot of things. But I certainly don’t know everything there is to know about life. But you’re not supposed to know how life works down to the T. It’s a journey to live. Everyday I learn something new. Everyday I am exposed to more truths. Everyday I discover more about myself. And Everyday…I continue to humble myself even more.

82ad16a2af9111e3a6451202bc56af4f_8

Having a teachable spirit allows you to be open minded to receive wisdom from others. Even the wise have teachable spirits. No matter how long you have been here compared to others, there is always more to learn.

We all have the same amount of hours in a day…What are you doing differently? Time is precious because once it’s gone, it’s not coming back. One who can’t be taught don’t even know how far they can stretch.

Until next time, Shalom!
~Taneshia S.

Leave a Reply

